Rock Candy

Rock guitar virtuoso Jimi Hendrix (1942 - 1970) caught mid guitar-break during his performance at the Isle of Wight Festival, August 1970. (Photo by Evening Standard/Getty Images)

Jimi Hendrix will be playing from the grave again next spring.

The family-owned Experience Hendrix album will release Both Sides Of The Sky on March 9, featuring 13 tracks — 10 never before released — recorded between January 1968 and February 1970 and featuring guest appearances by Stephen Stills, Johnny Winter and Lonnie Youngblood. The set is intended as the third part of a trilogy that includes 2010’s Valleys Of Neptune and 2013’s People, Hell And Angels, all mining Hendrix’s prodigious vault for significant unreleased material and produced by his sister Janie Hendrix and longtime recording engineer Eddie Kramer.

The album includes “Lover Man” and a rendition of Muddy Waters‘ “Mannish Boy” recorded at the first-ever session by Hendrix’s Band Of Gypsys on April 22, 1969.

Janie Hendrix, who’s  President and CEO of Experience Hendrix, L.L.C. said in a statement that, “We have a growing commitment to preserve the legacy of Jimi and also to continue to give the worldwide family of Jimi fans quality releases. That’s what ‘Both Sides of The Sky’ reflects, our ongoing commitment. In a deeper sense, it’s the keeping of a promise. Jimi and I once made a promise to each other. He said he would take care of me and I told him I would take care him. Through his music and our preservation of his work, my brother and I honor one another. We are now in our third decade of watching over Jimi’s creative works and our resolve to maintain the integrity of what he left us has only grown stronger with time.”

Kramer added, “Jimi’s true home was the studio, that’s where the music and the magic happened. He loved everything about recording and it’s been my distinct pleasure and an honor to play a part in that process both then and now.”

Pre-orders are available at

The full track list includes:
1)    Mannish Boy*
2)    Lover Man*
3)    Hear My Train A Comin’*
4)    Stepping Stone*
5)    $20 Fine*+
6)    Power Of Soul^
7)    Jungle*
8)    Things I Used to Do#
9)    Georgia Blues++
10)  Sweet Angel*
11)  Woodstock*+
12)  Send My Love To Linda*
13)  Cherokee Mist*

*Previously unreleased
^ Previously unavailable extended version
+Featuring Stephen Stills
#Featuring Johnny Winter
++Featuring Lonnie Youngblood
Gary Graff is an award-winning music journalist who not only covers music but has written books on Bob Seger, Neil Young and Bruce Springsteen.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the WDHA D-Club email newsletter!

Join the WDHA D-Club for access to all the perks delivered right to your inbox from The Rock of New Jersey! Get exclusive presale codes for upcoming shows, updates with your favorite rockers, contest info, and more.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.