Rock Candy

INGLEWOOD, CALIFORNIA - JANUARY 19: <> Rivers Cuomo of Weezer performs on stage during 2019 iHeartRadio ALTer Ego at The Forum on January 19, 2019 in Inglewood, California. (Photo by Emma McIntyre/Getty Images for iHeartMedia)

Weezer surprised their fans very early this morning with the announcement of “The Teal Album,” an LP made up of 10 cover songs.

Available in multiple formats and on multiple platforms here (including a very on-theme bundle that includes a teal-colored velcro wallet), “The Teal Album” features the band’s hit cover of Toto’s “Africa,” in addition to covers from a wide variety of artists from Black Sabbath to TLC.  (Full track listing is below.)

“The Teal Album” comes a little over two months before the current March 1 release of the band’s highly-anticipated “The Black Album,” their 13th studio album.

Weezer – The Teal Album – Track Listing

Africa (Toto)
Everybody Wants to Rule the World (Tears for Fears)
Sweet Dreams (Are Made Of This) (The Eurythmics)
Take On Me (a-ha)
Happy Together (The Turtles)
Paranoid (Black Sabbath)
Mr. Blue Sky (Electric Light Orchestra)
No Scrubs (TLC)
Billie Jean (Michael Jackson)
Stand By Me (Ben E. King)

Erica Banas is rock/classic rock news blogger that loves the smell of old vinyl in the morning.

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights