Rock Candy

Red Hot Chili Peppers have dropped “Black Summer,” the lead single off their new album Unlimited Love, which comes out April 1.

“Black Summer” comes with a new music video (embedded below) that finds the Chili Peppers rocking out in front of various green-screened landscapes and other images. The track is available for streaming and download here.

Unlimited Love, 
which boasts 17 tracks, is notable for two big returns: Guitarist John Frusciante, who rejoined the band in December 2019 after departing from RHCP in 2009, and producer Rick Rubin, who last worked with the Chili Peppers on their 2011 LP I’m With You.

In a joint statement on Unlimited Love, RHCP said, “Our only goal is to get lost in the music. We spent thousands of hours, collectively and individually, honing our craft and showing up for one another, to make the best album we could. Our antennae attuned to the divine cosmos, we were just so damn grateful for the opportunity to be in a room together, and, once again, try to get better. Days, weeks and months spent listening to each other, composing, jamming freely, and arranging the fruit of those jams with great care and purpose. The sounds, rhythms, vibrations, words and melodies had us enrapt.”

They added, “We yearn to shine a light in the world, to uplift, connect, and bring people together. Each of the songs on our new album ‘Unlimited Love,’ is a facet of us, reflecting our view of the universe. This is our life’s mission. We work, focus, and prepare, so that when the biggest wave comes, we are ready to ride it. The ocean has gifted us a mighty wave and this record is the ride that is the sum of our lives. Thank you for listening, we hope you enjoy it. Rock out motherf—ers!”

Unlimited Love is available for pre-order in a variety of formats at

Red Hot Chili Peppers – Unlimited Love – Tracklisting

1. “Black Summer”
2. “Here Ever After”
3. “Aquatic Mouth Dance”
4. “Not the One”
5. “Poster Child”
6. “The Great Apes”
7. “It’s Only Natural”
8. “She’s a Lover”
9. “These Are the Ways”
10. “Whatchu Thinkin’”
11. “Bastards of Light”
12. “White Braids & Pillow Chair”
13. “One Way Traffic”
14. “Veronica”
15. “Let ‘Em Cry”
16. “The Heavy Wing”
17. “Tangelo”


Red Hot Chili Peppers – Their 40 Best Songs Ranked

Erica Banas is a rock/classic rock news blogger who's well-versed in etiquette and extraordinarily nice. #TransRightsAreHumanRights

Sign me up for the WDHA D-Club email newsletter!

Join the WDHA D-Club for access to all the perks delivered right to your inbox from The Rock of New Jersey! Get exclusive presale codes for upcoming shows, updates with your favorite rockers, contest info, and more.

By clicking "Subscribe" I agree to the website's terms of Service and Privacy Policy. I understand I can unsubscribe at any time.